Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Soup's on

I love soup! I will try any kind of soup but I have my favorites (I can't list them all its a long list). But this sudden need to express my adoration for soup came moments ago when I ate a cup of Maruchan Instant Lunch. Again, I was working on my homework all morning and never got a chance to eat, so after I went to go turn in my paper, and discovered that it's still freezing outside, I decided to eat some soup to warm me up. One thing about my soup is that I prefer it to be piping hot, you know it's just not soup if its warm, I want to see steam, I want there to be the possibility to burn my tongue. Sure I will cool the soup off once on my spoon, but I have the option by then it's the perfect temperature. Yeah...I love soup.

Let us rewind to Sunday, before I watched a marathon of Man v. Food, that was the day of the TMB band banquet, it was a lot of fun, as I enjoy the banquet more and more every year. This year our banquet was at the Wilshire Grand in downtown LA.We had a three course meal which consisted of a house salad with vinaigrette dressing, a huge steak main course, and a banana cake/pudding desert. SIDENOTE: I am picky about my bananas. I HATE artificial banana flavoring. I also prefer my bananas slightly under ripe, because I don't like brown mushy spots [end note].
Overall the meal was good, and afterwards Dr. Bartner (our director) awarded the seniors their stadium blankets and some other awards. After he was done, there were some funny awards created and awarded by an assistant director. Once all that was complete we broke up into our respective classes and went to go pick up our class gift. Freshmen get this funny looking sweater, Sophomores get a really warm wind breaker (my far the most useful gift), Juniors receive a really nice jock jacket (like a high school letterman jacket), and Seniors receive a stadium blanket that is embroidered with their name and what not. I love my jacket, it is everything I expected! After we all got our gifts we took a section picture, and then were given the option to leave, or stay for the dance portion of our banquet...I don't dance, so I left.
That was the end of our season. Wait there's more, we are going to the Emerald Bowl this year, and the schedule looks crazy. So far I have to be back in LA by 6pm Christmas day, we leave at 4am on the 26th, after a couple rallies and the game we fly directly back to LA, and the following day we preform at Disneyland.

Speaking of Disneyland, I was just there last night. It was extremely cold, but it had the added bonus of a low attendance, so the wait times were not long at all. Again, my boyfriend and I waited in line for Toy Story Mania, this time I had a new strategy and I was determined to beat him, but guess what? the strategy didn't work, and again he didn't let me win. I'm sure there's a trick and I'm going to figure it out for next time. Also they were filming something in front of the castle which allowed me to get an empty picture of the castle after the crew left. I have no idea what they were filming but there was a girl with a light dress and about
ten people standing behind her, maybe a commercial? I don't know but I did go back to Fantasyland and eat at the Village Haus, where I saw Santa a couple weeks ago, and right outside I took a picture of the old Skyway building. Yes, although they closed the Skyway in 1994 the building and steps still remain. They have tried to hide the building by allowing the large trees to grow in front of it and placing food tents in front of the steps, the result 15 years later is a building facade only Disney can make. Although I was young, I remember the Skyway, and how it would pass through the Matterhorn, and although it seemed you were high in the air, pictures reveal to me now that it wasn't as high as I remember.I still think they should bring it back, I'm sure they can build something safer (and larger to accommodate the disabled. But of course stupid people ruin it for the rest of us, and I think an incident in April of '94, where a man jumped out of the Skyway into a tree, was the last straw...

I received the red cover for my phone today, and I just snapped it on about an hour ago, although I like the color, not the mention the peace of mind that my phone is somewhat protected, I still have to get use to the added bulkiness.

My tongue is still tingling from the soup :)

No comments:

Post a Comment