Tuesday, January 19, 2010

This week in pictures

This weekend I visited LA LIVE for the first time.

Rosa Mexicano: My friends and I found this Mexican restaurant on the edge of LA LIVE, facing Olympic. The restaurant was traditionally themed, with fresh colorful colors painted on the walls. The atmosphere is pleasant, with friendly servers and a relaxed feel. The food however, did not meet it's surroundings. We started off with chips and two types of salsa. The chips were rather salty, and I had to wipe my fingers on my napkin after every chip I ate. The red salsa, was okay at best, nothing better than a salsa you could buy at grocery store. The best comparison I can give is, it is of equal taste to Baja Fresh's salsa roja, although a bit thicker. The green tomatillo salsa was interesting and did send my taste buds on a journey. I did spend each bite trying to figure out the ingredients, which I did with little success. What I noticed and enjoyed was perhaps a hint of pureed avocado, other than that, I also noticed some cilantro and lime. When I glanced at the menu, I found the restaurant to be overpriced, at least to what I was expecting to pay. I ordered off the appetizers and got the ceviche. When it arrived I was disappointed at best. The serving was nothing more than a small scoop, and I could get more food by ordering four piece chicken mcnuggets at McDonald's. The ceviche contained tuna slices, which is unorthodox in ceviche, and three shrimp. The taste was bland, and I barely noticed the hint of lemon/lime which is how the raw seafood is marinated and ultimately cooked. I ate my ceviche with about three scoops of salsa and the chips to add flavor. I ended up paying about $18, after tax and tip and the promise I would never eat there again. My party was also pretty disappointed, and we regretted not waiting in the line at the ESPN Zone, where at least we knew the food was edible and generous.

Youth in Revolt: Horrible movie, and rather graphic. I would like to start by saying that I don't like stupid comedies (example: Superbad, Juno, anything with Adam Sandler, Napoleon Dynamite, Borat, Talladega Nights, etc). What a surprise that all Michael Cera makes is stupid comedies. I would not have watched this movie by choice, but the group chose it, so there it was. Michael Cera plays the same character in every movie, a nerdy virgin teenager who wants a girlfriend [wow enjoy being type cast Michael]. This movie was no different. I would like to know why he always dresses retro (70's-ish) in his films. This was $11 dollars and  two hours wasted. But if you are so inclined to high school comedies, this is right up your ally. Rotten Tomatoes rating of 71%

Daybreakers: I watched this movie yesterday and I'm still not entirely sure how I feel about it. I can appreciate that this is no ordinary vampire film, and the concept is great, but unfortunately the graphics and screen play are a bit lacking. Vampires have now become the majority, and the human population is at 5% which is leaving vampires with a shortage of human blood - without the blood, or a proper substitute, vampires will starve. Ethan Hawke, a vampire, is in charge of finding a substitute, and so far his attempts are unsuccessful. Fortunately, with the help of some humans he finds a cure, and is able to turn himself and others human again. This movie contained a lot of flames (unlike Twilight, these vampires burn in the sun), and blood obviously. The blood they used in the film was a little on the thick side and when poured in glasses, the blood did not appear at all to be human. The flames were the cheap animated ones, but considering they were on people it's understandable, however I would expect the flames to look a little more realistic. This would have made a decent rental. Rotten Tomatoes rating 66% (personally I would have rated this above Youth in Revolt but I am just opposed to stupid comedies)

Orochon Ramen: My personal love for Orochon Ramen, and soup in general was expressed in a previous post! I returned to the ramen house yesterday with the determination to try something spicier. Last time I visited I got a #4 with a soy sauce broth. Since I do not know the jumps in spiciness I decided to get a #3 this time with the soy sauce broth. I enjoyed my huge bowl of ramen, it was not as spicy as I had guessed, and I can safely say I can eat spicier. Perhaps next time I will try a #1 with the miso broth, which I hear is amazing. Although I never finish the enormous portion of soup, I do enjoy the left overs.

Skins: I've been watching this British show, called Skins all weekend, and have already blazed my way through season 1. The best way I can describe this show is to compare it to Degrassi. I was a big fan of Degrassi when I was younger and even now I don't object to watching it, that is until they got a new cast last season. Skins is so much more racier than Degrassi, and where Degrassi is rated PG, Skins is the equivalent to NC-17. Anyways, very entertaining show

No comments:

Post a Comment